the Schengen Agreement - definition and synonyms


Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

/ˈʃeŋən əˌɡriːmənt/
  1. an agreement between European countries to get rid of all controls at their borders, and so allow people and goods complete freedom to move between their countries. The agreement involves all members of the European Union except the UK, Ireland, Bulgaria, and Romania, and also Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein.